1. Home
  2. >>
  3. whatsapp
  4. >>
  5. [REVIEW] : WhatsApp launches a positive and negative feature at the same time

[REVIEW] : WhatsApp launches a positive and negative feature at the same time



[REVIEW] : WhatsApp launches a positive and negative feature at the same time


The instant communication application “WhatsApp” has launched a new feature, which may be seen as positive for some, but negative for others, which follows the development of the application first-hand, said “WhatsApp” is testing currently the technology to limit the passage of messages (Forward). To stop spam and misleading messages.

The new feature sets restrictions on sending messages to groups, and it can only be done once at a time, unlike what is currently prevalent. to the rest of the users.

This feature will be offered on all phones running “iOS” and “Android” systems, and “WhatsApp” first started testing this feature in the “Android Beta” version, and then it was launched in the “iOS” version. “.

He added that more app users will notice the new feature going live in the coming weeks. Some see this feature as a good thing as it curbs those who distribute fake news and harmful messages. But on the other hand, another group sees this feature as a bad thing because it practically reduces the pace of their work, which requires spreading information among the groups they participate in.

WhatsApp testing feature that hides your “Last seen” status

WhatsApp is testing a new option that allows users to hide their “Last Seen” status from specific contacts. It is currently available on their latest betas, with no rollout schedule for all users.

One of the world‘s most popular messaging services is rolling out a handy new privacy feature. On the latest beta version of WhatsApp for Android and iOS, they introduced a feature that would allow you to exclude specific contacts from seeing your “Last Seen” status.

WhatsApp just added the feature to the iPhone/iOS beta yesterday, as part of their latest effort to add new privacy options for users. It is available to select beta testers using current beta versions of WhatsApp and will be released to users in waves.

The “Last Seen” usually appears under a user’s name and indicates when they last opened the app. It indicates a specific time if the person was active during the day or a date if they have not been active for a certain time. WhatsApp currently allows users to limit their “Last Seen” status to only their contacts or disable the feature entirely.

This feature can prevent others from knowing if you have read their messages. While WhatsApp allows its users to disable read receipts, the “last seen” time may suggest that someone has recently opened the app.

This update also allows you to hide your profile picture and the “About” section under your name from specific contacts. Beta testers can access this setting by going to Settings > Account > Privacy and selecting the “My contacts except” setting. This will take you to a list of your contacts where you can exclude specific names.

There is no official word on when this will be introduced in stable versions of WhatsApp. Last year, the company released a major security enhancement that closed a major flaw in its end-to-end encryption.

Ability to test WhatsApp to hide “last seen” status of specific contacts on iOS

WhatsApp has started testing the new “Last Seen” hide status option. Beta testers can now hide their status from specific contacts as part of the company’s new privacy setting.

Those who have access to beta 22.9.0.70 on iOS will be the first to try this feature. Reports indicate that the feature is active. Once accessed, users can access the privacy setting. In the Last Seen option, users can choose between “Everyone”, “My contacts”, “No one” and “My contacts except…”.

As the report explains, users do not have to set the status to “Nobody” if the status has been disabled due to certain contacts. Also, when you block contacts from seeing their “last seen” status on WhatsApp, you won’t be able to see their contacts. WhatsApp is said to aim to implement the same option as a user’s “profile picture” and “about” information.

It should be noted that more beta testers will gain access to the feature over time. WhatsApp is expected to increase the number of testers over the next few days.

The introduction of the “Last Seen” privacy setting is the latest addition to WhatsApp. Recently, WhatsApp added an option to reply to messages using emojis. Currently, the feature has a limited scope with only a few emojis available. However, future updates are on the way to implement communities and support 2GB file sharing. However, it is still unknown when these features will be accessible.

Someone blocked you on WhatsApp? Here is a simple trick to find out

How to block someone on WhatsApp?

If there’s someone in your life whose messages you’d rather not see, you can easily block them.

In the settings of WhatsApp, go to “Account”, then to “Privacy” then to “Blocked contacts”. You can add someone from your contact list with the plus sign at the top right.

There is another option to adopt if a stranger sends you a message, tap on the phone number at the top of the conversation to open the profile. At the very bottom, you will find the “Block” option. This will allow you to stop receiving his messages.

How do you know if you are blocked by someone?

If you have the option of ending your correspondent’s messages, how do you know if you yourself have been blocked by someone? You can’t see this specifically in the app but there are clues to confirm it.

The first proof is of course that the person has not replied to your messages for a long time, but that is not enough to think that the person has blocked you.

Another clue is that you can no longer see when this person last logged in as your contact. This is also not a guarantee as that person may have disabled it in the privacy settings.

There is also a third clue, the checkmarks next to your read receipt messages, which are also telling. A tick means that your message has been sent but has not been received by the recipient, two ticks confirm that the message is received. Messages from blocked contacts do not arrive. So if you never see a second tick, chances are you’re stuck. This element is also not a certainty that your interlocutor has blocked you because this person can also have their phone turned off.

The last resort is to try calling via WhatsApp. A phone call will not go through if you are blocked.

Only the person who blocked the phone number can remove the contacts from the blacklist and unblock them.