The last iteration of TGS with a physical event before 2022 took place in 2019. CESA saw 262,076 visitors at Tokyo Game Show 2019. TGS 2022 had just over half the number of spectators compared to 2019. The he 2018 edition still holds the highest attendance record with 298,690 visitors.

The previous year, CESA announced that the Tokyo Game Show 2021 only had 1,574 physical visitors. While this number has dropped massively from 2019, the global COVID-19 pandemic has brought physical events to a halt. There were technically no physical attendees in 2020, as CESA opted for an all-virtual event in the wake of the pandemic. For the 2021 edition, the organizer organized a limited physical event which only approved influencers and members of the press could attend. CESA did not include the 2021 figure in its latest press release.

Foreign visitors are also taken into account in the attendance of the show. The Japanese government has gradually eased travel restrictions in recent months. It started allowing “unaccompanied visitors” with a known “sponsor” or travel agency in September 2022. However, the situation has not yet returned to pre-pandemic years.

At the same press conference, CESA confirmed the dates for the upcoming Tokyo Game Show 2023. The annual Japanese gaming event will return from September 21-24, 2023.

TOKYO GAME SHOW 2022: TIME TO REVIEW AND NUMBER OF VISITORS, IT’S LESS THAN BEFORE BUT ENCOURAGING

The Tokyo Game Show closed its doors just a few hours ago on the Chiba side, in the suburbs of Tokyo. It is therefore time to take stock and give us the details of the attendance figures. For this first face-to-face edition after COVID and the global pandemic, the TGS 2022 edition still manages to bring together 138,192 visitors over the four days. This is twice less than in 2019 when there were 262,076 people compared to 298,690 visitors for the Tokyo Game Show 2018. Divided into two professional days and two days for the public, the Tokyo Game Show especially saw a sharp drop attendance on Saturdays and Sundays, with twice or even three times less than in previous years. On the press day and professionals in the field, we lost around 10,000 visitors for each day, which is quite encouraging for the coming years. But no matter, because in the media, the Tokyo Game Show 2022 has a great international resonance with many digital conferences (Sony PlayStation, Xbox, Capcom, and even Nintendo) which announced many new games and consolidated the others. .

TGS 2022: have you always dreamed of going there? Live the Japanese show as if you were there with JV!

Public transport

Before you can enjoy the games and activities of the Tokyo Game Show, you still need to be able to go to the Tokyo Game Show. If your sense of direction is struggling in the corridors of the Paris metro, that of Tokyo is on a whole new level. The “darksolization” of public transport according to the Japanese? In appearance only. Just get used to the signs – yellow (Exit) – and follow the signs on the ground or on the walls to find your way. Here are some indications and advice to optimize your travel time, extra time to spend at the show rather than in a train car.

Although the metropolitan rail network is managed by several companies, unification of means of payment allows you to travel serenely. A single card, usually suica Where Pasmo, allows you to take any line and go wherever you want. Note that these cards are also accepted in convenience stores (drinks, press, food, etc.). In short, once your sesame is in your hands and loaded with a few thousand yen (1 euro = 143.19 yen in September 2022), it’s time to get on board.

We start our journey at Tokyo Station, one of the main stations in the Japanese capital, and above all ideal for getting to the Tokyo Game Show. Once through the gates, take the “red” line Keiyo direction Soga / Maihama (Tokyo Disneyland), then get off at Kaihin-Makuhari stop located in the city of Chiba after 20 minutes of transport (fast train) or 30 minutes (local train). All you have to do is walk about ten minutes to reach this temple dedicated to video games, the Makuhari Mass and where the Tokyo Game Show is held.

business cards

Japan is a country with customs that are sometimes very different from Western ones. Objects from the past for us, business cards are used daily in the Japanese archipelago to the point of still being a real institution in 2022. The Japanese always have on them these pieces of printed cardboard which serve here as an identity document to a certain extent. If visitors to the Tokyo Game Show are not obliged to present said business cards, it is different for the press and professionals. who must imperatively give two a day under penalty of being refused entry to the TGS. No business card, no living room!

The tour of the stands and demos

Tokyo Game Show 2022 spans eight halls which may seem vast, but in fact only Halls 3 to 7 (see below) should interest you, unless you are looking for goodies, independent games or even unexpected experiences. The publishers, mainly Japanese, but not exclusively, did not skimp on the means to celebrate as it should be the return of the TGS in its optimal physical versionand not the hybrid one offered in 2021. Lively music, life-size statues of emblematic characters and a sound and light show were on the agenda.

THQ Nordic and the Steam Deck, to name only the best known, participate in the celebration and thus delight visitors who can preview the future of Japanese video games, and international ones to a lesser extent. Among the absent, we deplore that of Sony and its PlayStation brand, although its virtual reality headset PlayStation®VR2 be present on the Capcom stand (Resident Evil VII: Biohazard, Resident Evil Village).

Tokyo Game Show 2022: How to watch live and what time the event starts

The Metal Gear saga is an anniversary and the name of Silent Hill never ceases to resonate. The Japanese company will participate with its own conference at the Tokyo Game Show 2022, the stage where it will announce a new episode “of a much-loved saga”. Whatever that mystery title is, we won’t doubt it very soon. Don’t miss all the news and follow the presentation live today September 16th.

  • France (): at 2 p.m.
  • France (Canary Islands): at 1 p.m.
  • Argentina: at 09:00
  • Bolivia: at 08:00
  • Brazil: at 09:00
  • Chile: at 08:00
  • Colombia: at 07:00
  • Costa Rica: at 06:00
  • Cuba: at 08:00
  • Ecuador: at 07:00
  • El Salvador: at 06:00
  • United States (Washington DC): at 08:00
  • United States (PT): at 05:00
  • Guatemala: at 06:00
  • Honduras: at 06:00
  • Mexico: at 07:00
  • Nicaragua: at 06:00
  • Panama: at 07:00
  • Paraguay: at 08:00
  • Peru: at 07:00
  • Puerto Rico: 8:00 a.m.
  • Dominican Republic: at 08:00
  • Uruguay: at 09:00
  • Venezuela: at 08:00

Categorized in: