Live Text was one of the featured features of iOS 15, it’s coming back in full force with iOS 16 with new capabilities. We come back to the history of this feature which required several years of work from Apple.

iOS 16 beta 3 enables iCloud Shared Photo Library

This is one of the big pieces of iOS 16 and macOS Ventura that was still not available until beta 3: the shared photo library! This new function, which appeared this evening, allows you to share photos and videos between six people, friends or relatives, without it being linked to family sharing.

In the settings, the creator of the shared photo library – who must ensure that he has sufficient iCloud storage space – will give access to the photo library to five other people. Everyone will be able to add, modify and even delete content.

For each of the users, adding photos to the shared photo library takes place either from the three-dot menu at the top right of an image, with the new Move to shared photo library option. Either directly from the Camera app, new settings are available with the possibility of sharing photos only when you are at home

Once enabled, the Camera app’s auto-share option can be disabled directly from a small button at the top left of the shooting window.

We will have the opportunity to come back to it of course, but our first steps in this shared photo library are rather encouraging, even if it still lacks social functions: we can “like” an image by touching the heart, but without knowing who loved her. And there is no space to comment on the photos.

You can create a shared photo library of photos and videos of moments spent with your loved ones. Apple advises that you can only have one shared photo library. The person who creates the latter will have to have the necessary iCloud storage space for all the elements. On the other hand, the shared photo library is owned by one person, who can then invite up to 5 other people. All members can add, edit and delete content.

After selecting the people you share with, you can choose to move your photos to the shared library. You can move all your photos and videos, photos that include certain people or are from a certain date, or you can choose the photos manually. Once your photos are added, you can preview the library before it’s shared, then officially invite attendees using the Messages app or a shared link. All participants will have access to all photos that are uploaded to the shared library.

Categorized in: