WhatsApp continues its momentum and brings new changes to its application aimed at improving the privacy of its users by allowing them to ” better protect their privacy online “.

Now they will have more control over who can see certain information in their account.

It is now possible to create a blacklist on WhatsApp

WhatsApp users will thus be able to choose which of their contacts can see their profile photo, their status as well as the mention “seen at”, which allows an interlocutor to know if their message has been read. Rolling out to beta testers since last year, the feature will now launch more widely, the Meta subsidiary announced in a tweet.

WhatsApp multiplies the novelties

In recent months, WhatsApp has made several practical changes to its application. For example, the service has deployed a feature that is eagerly awaited by its users by allowing discussions to be transferred from an Android smartphone to an iPhone. In addition, messaging has also increased the limit of people who can join a discussion group, from 256 to 512 people.

Other features, one of which is highly anticipated, are in preparation at Meta. In the coming months, there is a good chance that WhatsApp will allow its users to edit a message after it has been sent. Finally, the firm is also developing a feature offering the possibility of linking your account to a second smartphone.

WhatsApp rolls out new options to protect your privacy

The messaging application has just launched new security tools to allow you to choose the contacts authorized to see your profile photo, your personal information and the time of your last connection.

An option to prevent certain contacts from spying on you

Until now, the application offered only three options to limit the audience of this information: Everybody, My contacts and Nobody. From now on, a fourth option is proposed: My contacts except… “. It lets you select which contacts you don’t want to see your profile picture, contact info, and last time you were online. To customize these settings, go to the Settings of the application, then in Account, access the Privacy menu. You will then only have to review the options “Seen at”, “Profile photo”, “News”, “Groups” and “Status”.

The rollout of these new privacy options is great news. It should allow users to regain control over their activity within the application. It must be said that until now, messaging was not really a good student in this area. Until recently, the application provided evil souls with everything they needed to spy on you without your knowledge. Aware that its application could be used by strangers to spy on you without your knowledge, Meta had already taken measures at the end of 2021. Instant messaging had indeed strengthened user privacy by now only allowing people saved in your address book or those with whom you have already discussed to know your last connection on the application.

Tired of being tracked on WhatsApp? This new feature helps you maintain your privacy

WhatsApp is currently rolling out new security features that allow you to gain more granular control over who can and cannot see certain details related to your account. Like your activity.

The parameters concerned here are the profile photo, your status, but also the date and time of your “Last connection”. You can now decide who among your contacts can view these three details. The control over the “Last connection”, in particular, is an extra in development since November 2021. It could finally become effective on your Android or iOS smartphone.

But, there is a but”…

Prior to this security update, you could either let the public see those particular details, restrict access to only contacts, or prevent everyone from seeing them. And you didn’t have to worry about the rest of your contacts, because anyone with unrestricted access could take advantage of this information without any problem.

With this new update, be aware that when you limit access to the “seen on…” notification to a certain person, you will no longer be able to monitor their own online status. This update is coming to both Android and iOS. To find out if it is already effective, go to WhatsApp Settings, then select Account, and finally Privacy.

Other hidden functions

In addition to security updates, WhatsApp has also introduced three new group call features. You can now mute or send messages to specific people while on a call. There will also be a new indicator that will appear at the bottom of the screen when someone joins a large scale call. This information comes from the Twitter account(opens in new tab) of Will Cathcart, head of WhatsApp.

This feature allows group creators to control who can be allowed to participate in a chat. Members of a group chat can invite other people to the room, but these additional people must be approved by the creator as well. Group member approval can be enabled by going to the group chat settings.

WhatsApp strengthens its privacy protection options

The messaging war continues. While Telegram recently presented new features for its paid subscription, it’s WhatsApp’s turn to deploy new features on its app. Meta’s proprietary messaging service has just announced options to protect user’s personal information.

How to limit the sharing of personal info

It is now possible to more effectively filter the contacts who can see the profile photo, status or last login time. Previously, you could hide this information from unknown numbers (not saved in contacts), people saved in contacts, or nobody. There is now a fourth, more granular option that allows these details to be hidden for specific contacts. A way to protect yourself from possible harassment.

To access this option, simply go to the Settings menu (top right button on the main screen), then click on Account. In the Privacy section, you can then indicate whether you want to share your profile photo, news or status with Everyone, My contacts, Nobody or My contacts except… It is this last option that has just been deployed by WhatsApp. By selecting it, the user has at his disposal a list of his WhatsApp contacts and can filter profile by profile who has the right to see what. In this same menu, you can also deactivate read confirmations for more peace of mind.

Categorized in: