WhatsApp should very soon welcome a new feature that should delight the most discreet among you.

For long weeks, the Meta group has announced many new features to come within its WhatsApp instant messaging. And the least we can say is that the giant is not idle to make its application the most complete it is. But after a few days of silence, a new feature being prepared has been discovered. And this one will be about your activity status.

WhatsApp: an invisibility option soon available

In the next few weeks, it should finally be possible to completely hide your online status on WhatsApp. More concretely, this feature, called “Who can see when I’m online”, will allow you to become invisible to all of your contacts, or, if you wish, only to some of them.

WhatsApp: the expected private browsing coming soon

In one of its next updates, WhatsApp should finally offer a feature to browse incognito.

It’s been several weeks now that Meta has been working hard on WhatsApp updates. The objective is obviously that its solution remains the main instant messaging on the market, despite certain shortcomings in the face of competitors such as Signal, Telegram or even Messenger. Soon, a much-requested feature should finally land: the ability to hide your status.

Enhanced privacy on WhatsApp

Screenshot in support, a “Who can see me online” feature is under development at WhatsApp. Alongside the option “Who can see my “Seen at”” already offered in the application, it will now be possible to choose who will see the user online.

Two choices are offered: everyone, or the same setting as for “Seen at”, namely “My Contacts”, “My Contacts Except…” or “Nobody”. Practical in particular for hiding your online presence from specific people and non-contacts, without completely cutting yourself off from friends or family.

WhatsApp will finally add the function that everyone has been waiting for

It will soon be possible to use the incognito application.

This should allow users to hide their online status. Thus, the small indicator indicating that the user is online can be deactivated. It will thus be possible to connect to the application, without other people knowing it.

On WhatsApp, it is already possible to define who can see when you were last online. The user can choose to display the “Seen to” information to everyone, to no one, to all your contacts or to certain contacts, it will be possible to apply this choice to manage the appearance of his status as being on line. Thus, the people to whom the user gives access to his “Seen at” information, will be the same people who will be able to see when he is currently using the application.

For the visibility of the online status, the user will be able to choose between two options. Either show it to everyone, or use the same settings as for “Seen at”. “For example, if you choose ‘My contacts’ for ‘Last seen’ and ‘Same as last seen’ for ‘online’, that means non-contacts won’t be able to see when you’re online.”

WhatsApp finally gives you more time to delete your embarrassing messages

We no longer stop WhatsApp, which is working on many features. The novelty of the day concerns the time offered by the application to delete your messages which will be considerably extended.

Who said WhatsApp was resting on its laurels? Meta’s application may be the leader in many markets, but it continues to evolve by offering new features, some of which are already available from the competition. This time, you’ll be able to delete some embarrassing messages long after you’ve written them.

WhatsApp significantly extends the time to delete your messages

The delete messages feature is not new in that it was launched in 2017. Initially very strict on deadlines, it has been relaxed over the course of updates, until proposing today a message deletion limit set at 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds after publication. With this new update, the limit is pushed back to 2 days and 12 hours.

You will therefore have more time to use the famous “delete for everyone” feature. The latter is particularly useful if you find that your interlocutors have not yet read your message, but that you want to delete it completely to write a new one or not.

This new deletion time will be added to the long list of features under development, such as the ability to hide your online status, or the editing of messages already sent. The extension of the message deletion period also concerns WhatsApp group administrators who will have the possibility to withdraw any messages from users within the group.

“It was about time,” some will say, since some competing messaging apps like Telegram already offer the deletion of a message up to 48 hours after writing it. WhatsApp would therefore take a little head start by offering its users an additional 12 hours to withdraw their messages.

The feature is already tested by some beta testers with version 2.22.15.8. It will be rolled out later to a growing number of users on the public version of WhatsApp.

WhatsApp launches a useful new feature: verification codes will no longer be required to log in

Latest WhatsApp beta makes logging in on a new device a breeze: just an automated phone call is all it takes

The new WhatsApp feature is here to save you time and effort when it comes to logging into your account on a new device. Until now, to access an existing WhatsApp account, it was necessary to verify access with a code. But, for some time now, the company has been working on a new verification method that is more convenient and requires virtually no user interaction.

WhatsApp Autocalls will verify your account without doing anything

The next new feature of WhatsApp will save you from working when logging into your account.

A while ago we already talked about automatic account verification in WhatsApp. All the while, the feature remained in development and wasn’t ready to see the light of day. Now, this verification option becomes available for Android users.

As verified, when logging into a WhatsApp account on a device, the application will provide the option to verify the phone number by making an automatic call, without having to enter the six-digit code.

The call will end immediately, and as long as WhatsApp has been granted access to call history, it will check if the called phone number matches the account phone number.

In case of impossibility to use this method of verification, it will be possible to verify the account by SMS, using the six-digit code as before.

The feature is already available in the beta version of WhatsApp for Android with the latest version of the application. This option will not reach WhatsApp for iOS due to the lack of a public API to view the call log.

WhatsApp could hide “online status”

WhatsApp has introduced a number of privacy-focused changes and features over the years. According to reports, WhatsApp will soon be rolling out an option that would allow users to choose who can see when they are online. This would be an important feature. Apart from that, WhatsApp is updating the message deletion time for beta testers.

WhatsApp will allow users to choose who can see when they are online. The feature is currently under development, so beta users will not receive the feature yet

WhatsApp recently rolled out a feature that hides their last seen and status updates from specific contacts. Previously, users didn’t have the option to hide their last seen and status updates from specific people. Users had only three options, such as “Everyone”, “My Contacts”, and “Nobody”. Now users also have the option “My contacts except”.

Categorized in: