How to send temporary messages on WhatsApp and WhatsApp Web so that they self-destruct after 7 days
WhatsApp has just activated the temporary messages that They self-destruct every 7 days in mobile applications, desktop applications and WhatsApp Web. The company announced the availability of the function last December after having tested it for a long time in beta, and it is finally available to all users, as we have seen.
The idea is that, when activated, the function deletes both our received and sent messages in a chat, including audios and other multimedia content. Today we are going to explain how to use the ephemeral messages of WhatsApp, WhatsApp Desktop and WhatsApp Web.
Activating temporary messages is as simple as going to the user profile
Activating temporary messages in a chat does not have much science. In the case of an individual user, in iOS and Android we will have to go to a contact from the Chats panel, and once we have entered their conversation, we will touch on the name.
That will take us to “Contact information”, menu where we will find the option “Temporary messages”. Once we play there WhatsApp will explain how it works and will allow us to activate and deactivate the option.
On WhatsApp Web or WhatsApp Desktop lThe steps are similar to those we have seen on mobile. We access the contact information of the chat where we want to activate the temporary messages, and we mark the option as we see below:
By activating this option, we will have the advantages and possibilities offered by messages that self-destruct. This is how the company explains the peculiarities and limitations of this novelty:
Each of the users of a normal conversation (between two people) can activate the function, but in groups, the possibility of doing so will only be in the hands of the administrators.
Although the temporary messages disappear after a week, it is important to remember what WhatsApp indicates: the notification preview might not clear, and that includes Android, iOS, macOS, and in this case Windows 10.
If you reply to a short-lived message as an appointment, even after seven days, the cited message can continue to be viewed.
If an ephemeral message is forwarded to a group where ephemeral messages are turned off, will remain visible in the forwarded chat.
If a user backs up when the ephemeral message is still visible, will be included in the backup. Ephemeral messages will be erased when a user restores a backup.
The images sent by the temporary chat will be removed from the photos of the application. Nevertheless, if automatic saving is activated in the smartphone gallery, the photos will remain on the different devices even when the day of message deletion is over.