PlayStation 4 Pro is available, and if you already have yours, you may be wondering how to transfer your data from your old PS4 to the new PlayStation 4 Pro.
This is relatively easy if you know the steps to take – it is very similar to the process of transferring data between two normal PS4 – so we present everything you need to carry out that transfer, as explained by the PlayStation Blog.
Transferring from PS4 to PS4 Pro – what you need to know first
We’ve prepared a guide on what you need to know about the PS4 Pro in general terms, but there are still a few things you need to know before you start:
- Your old PS4 is not erased – All data is copied to the new PS4 Pro, technically it is not transferred. You will have to delete them manually if you want to delete the data from the old console.
- Delete your old PS4 data if you want to sell it – for that, go to Settings, then Initialization, then Initialize PS4, then Complete. Please note that this will delete everything saved on your PS4 . Save things in the cloud or on an external drive and check again that the transfer to PS4 Pro was successful before doing this!
- Do not turn off the power during the transfer – can cause data loss, be careful.
- The data on the new console is deleted – everything you did to the new console before the transfer will be deleted when the transfer is complete. Don’t start new games on Pro before the transfer if you want to keep the saves.
- You need both consoles for the transfer – if you have already sold your original PS4, unfortunately you will not be able to perform a full transfer to Pro. But you can re-transfer purchases from the Store. If you have PS Plus, you can transfer saves that you have saved to cloud storage if you are a Plus member.
- If you perform a transfer, the hard drive of the new console is formatted – this means that if you do it a second time, it will delete everything you have in the Pro that you are going to perform the transfer to.
What can you transfer from PS4 to PS4 Pro?
- Game data will be transferred – all games downloaded, disc installer, and most importantly your saves will be transferred.
- Images and Videos
- Trophies – only the synchronized trophies will be transferred, make sure you synchronize the data. It should be automatic whenever your PS4 is connected to the internet.
- Profile data – all accounts on the old PS4 with a PSN ID will be transferred to Pro.
What is not transferred from PS4 to PS4 Pro?
- Passwords – for any application, whether PSN, Netflix or Amazon.
- Profile Data – for any account without PSN ID.
- Unsynchronized trophies – it is the same for unsynchronized trophies.
How to transfer data from your PS4 to PS4 Pro
With these points in mind, you can now start the transfer. Here’s how to do it, step by step:
It’s done! As we said, it is a relatively simple process and just follow the steps presented in Pro, but if you want to know more about Pro, including the list of updated games and console improvements, go through our guide everything we know about PS4 Pro.