By Thomas Corbet
Published on 27 November 23 at 11:39 a.m.
See my news
Follow rugby news
In the last defender position when dribbling winger Yérim FallThomas Ramos surrendered guilty of tripping during the second period of Toulouse – Clermont, 8-a-side matche Top 14 day. A gesture which did not earn him no sanction from the referee. Rugby News attempts to shed light on this point of regulation.
We play 50e minute of that Toulouse – Clermont at the time of the incriminated facts. The young Yérim Fall then seems to try his hand at dribbling under the nose of a helpless Thomas Ramos.
On his last touch a few meters from the goal, the Clermontois pushes the ball to his left and has to tilt his trajectory, cutting off that of Thomas Ramos who does not have time to react, or in any case does not change his own. The Toulousain then hits the leg of his opponent who collapses.
Thomas Ramos tripod, what the rules say
Despite his clear intervention, Thomas Ramos is not sanctioned by the referee Luc Ramos, who considers, supported by his assistants and the intervention of the video referee, that it is only a game accident .
Regulations applicable in the event of a tripped foot
Three rules of the game must be taken into account to interpret the action of Thomas Ramos:
– rule 9.1: “When a player and an opponent run towards the ball, these two players do not
can charge or push each other rather than shoulder to shoulder.
– rule 9.4: “A player must not intentionally prevent an opponent from having
possibility of playing the ball, other than by fighting for possession.
– rule 9.12: “A player must not attack anyone physically or verbally.
physical aggression includes, but is not limited to, biting,
punch, come into contact with the eye, eyes or area
eye, strike with any part of the arm, shoulder,
head or knees, stomping, tripping or kicking. »
This dispels any possible doubt, if there was any: tripping is prohibited in rugby. Rule 9.12 is quite clear on the subject. The other two rules also appear to apply, with 9.1 specifying that players fighting for the ball may push each other shoulder to shoulder and only in this manner. Which obviously excludes tripping.
On the other hand, and this is perhaps what Lus Ramos remembered, rule 9.4 mentions the notion of intention in an act of foul play preventing an opponent from playing the ball. Here, we can imagine that Thomas Ramos did not have time to adapt to his opponent’s change of direction.
In his explanations, the match referee even explained that he considered that Thomas Ramos had not changed course, concluding that the contact was accidental and more due to the action of Fall. An interpretation that can be understood. Especially given the speed of the sequence, it is hard to believe that the Toulouse man had the time to calculate the risks.
Furthermore, we can also assume that even if Fall had not fallen, Lucas Tauzin would have arrived first on the ball which had been pushed in his race. Not necessarily enough to cry foul in the end, even if a sanction would not have been shocking either. The magic of rugby, once again.
Every day, receive our best articles in your inbox with the News Rugby newsletter. Register here, it’s free!
Follow all the news from your favorite cities and media by subscribing to Mon Actu.