WhatsApp, one of the most used apps in the world, incorporates new features at a lower rate than other services. This is precisely because of the large number of users it has and the impact these new features can have. That’s why it tries several of these functions first in its beta, which also allows us to see in advance what can reach the application. In today’s case, content that self-destructs after some time after submission.


If this feature sounds like you, it’s not in vain, it’s popularized largely by Snapchat and its fleeting conversations. Later, we also saw it with photos on Instagram or apps like Messenger which also let you send self-destructing photos and videos. Maybe the next app to integrate it is WhatsApp, or at least that shows its beta.

  New MIT chip mimics brain synapses to 'remember' and be much more powerful than others its size

Sending self-destructing messages is actually something WhatsApp has been testing for some time in its beta. In fact, we were able to test it and explain in detail how it works. Now it looks like it will (similarly) hit media content as well.


Photographs that disappear as soon as you see them

From WaBetaInfo, which already has access to the development versions of WhatsApp, they posted screenshots of this new feature. The function seems to have proliferated in development, as now there are also indications that it will be available for photos, videos and other content multimedia. This is what the Android beta in version 2.20.201.1 shows for captures.

  2020 was to be the year of the electric car. 2020 has arrived and this is what it is


Sdf Example of how content appears that will self-destruct. Via WaBetaInfo.

Everything seems to indicate that users will not be able to choose how long to keep content before being eliminated. In other words, you cannot choose, for example, to have a photo deleted after two or five minutes. Instead, once the receiver opens the image or general content, it is deleted as soon as it leaves its preview. In fact, there won’t even be an indication that the message has been deleted or expired, it is simply deleted from the conversation entirely.

As always, expiring messages have a trick. There are ways and means preview or save them without the sender preventing. That’s why it’s not a foolproof method of having more privacy or security, just a method of not storing irrelevant content and with the certainty that the recipient will not either. It is possible for example to read this content from the notifications before it expires or simply to take a screenshot while viewing it. Some apps notify the sender if the recipient has taken screenshots.

  MacBook Air with M1 crushes any Mac in a sweeping mono-core benchmark

Either way, it must be remembered that just because a feature appears in beta versions does not mean that it reaches the final version and for the general public. Currently, WhatsApp is also working on other options such as connecting from multiple devices. Other features like Dark Mode were in testing for years until they finally hit the stable version. And yet, other options such as transfer limit immediately hit the stable version. Finally, difficult to draw conclusions from this new feature beyond the test.

Source : Engadget