The champions of Azeroth have traveled the Dragon Isles, aided the dragonflights, and defeated the mighty proto-drake, Raszageth. Now it’s time to discover what lies beneath the surface of the Dragon Isles as we herald the return to Forbidden Isle (10.0.7) on March 21st, along with Embers of Neltharion (10.1), the next major content update reveal for WoW.

Return to the Forbidden Island (10.0.7)

Coming on March 21, 2023 after regional maintenance is complete.

The main innovations include the following features:

  • New max level zone: The Forbidden Island
    • This zone contains new content for max-level characters dealing with the effects of the Primalists’ interference and the chaos they have wrought among the elements.
  • Zskera vault
    • Max-level characters who venture into the depths of the Forbidden Isle can aid the Dragonscale Expedition as they venture into newly discovered dungeons filled with enemies, unsolved mysteries, and pristine treasures.
  • Extension of the Monk class
    • Lightforged Draenei, Worgen, and Goblins can now choose the Monk class as well.

Embers of Neltharion (10.1)

Available March 9th on the Public Test Realm (PTR).

As players will learn in Return to the Forbidden Isle (10.0.7), the fallen Earth Warden Neltharion – better known to many as Deathwing – has set up a secret laboratory deep underground in the Dragon Isles. Both the recently liberated incarnations and a group of Dracthyr rebels led by Scale Commander Sarkareth pose a threat in their struggle for the laboratory and control of Neltharion’s long-hidden secrets.

The main innovations include the following features:

  • New zone: Zaralek Cave
    • New quests, residents to support, exploration, new ways to ride dragons, and more await you in this mysterious underground lair.
  • New Raid: Aberrus, the Shadow Crucible
    • Aberrus is a secret laboratory deep within Zaralek Cavern. Not only did Neltharion create the Dracthyr here—this is also where he succumbed to the whispers of the Old Gods.
    • Players see each other here nine bosses as they confront both the Incarnations and Scale Commander Sarkareth, whose forces seek to claim the Dracthyr legacy as their own.
    • As in Season 1, Normal, Heroic, and Mythic difficulties will be available at the same time.
  • New rotations for Mysthic+:
    • The remaining dungeons of Dragonflight become part of the fray:
      • brackenfur cave
      • Halls of Infusion
      • Uldaman: Legacy of Tyr
      • Neltharus
    • Four dungeons from past expansions return to keep the M+ rotation busy with new challenges:
      • Freeport, Battle for Azeroth
      • The Underrot, Battle for Azeroth
      • Neltharion’s Lair, Legion
      • The Vortex Pinnacle, Cataclysm
    • Seasonal affixes are in development and will be available for testing later in the PTR cycle.

And that’s not all! More information and updates on the Neltharion Ember PTR will be available throughout the testing period on the In Development forum.